Selective pathology fellowships: Diverse, innovative, and valuable subspecialty training Academic Article uri icon


MeSH Major

  • Education, Medical, Graduate
  • Fellowships and Scholarships
  • Pathology


  • There are currently 76 ACGME-accredited selective pathology programs. The programs are distributed between 3 major categories: surgical pathology, focused anatomic pathology, and focused clinical pathology. Although the vast majority of programs are concerned that their funding source may be cut in the next 3 years, most programs will not change the number of fellowship positions in their programs. Program requirements devoted specifically and solely to selective pathology have been developed and are in effect. The value of this training is recognized not only by pathologists, but by clinicians as well, in both academia and private practice. Importantly, the diversity and innovation inherent in selective pathology allow these programs to adeptly address new subspecialty areas and technologic advances in the current and evolving practice of pathology.

publication date

  • January 2014



  • Academic Article



  • eng

Digital Object Identifier (DOI)

  • 10.5858/arpa.2013-0454-SA

PubMed ID

  • 24678683

Additional Document Info

start page

  • 518

end page

  • 25


  • 138


  • 4